Between the Lines: Proper 13- August 4, 2013

Text: Hosea 11:1-11

first steps

first steps (Photo credit: Ian Koh)

Yet it was I who taught Ephraim to walk, I took them up in my arms; but they did not know that I healed them. I led them with cords of human kindness, with bands of love. I was to them like those who lift infants to their cheeks. I bent down to them and fed them…

This description of the Holy One who holds All in his/her hands I find touching and expanding. The words echo something of Jesus himself as he displayed to the world what Rowan Williams has called “the public language of God.” I would value acting out and miming such an image of God: teaching me as a child to walk; taking me up in divine arms with bands of love; lifting me to cheeks; having One bend over to feed me. It is a text to ponder while being walked. Or expressed in the arts using crayons or paint or clay. The opportunity here is to move beyond understanding and abstractions. The text is an invitation while breaking out of the head to reach toward experiences of the flesh that reveal a dimension and quality of the Divine.

– Bill Dols


“Between the Lines” is excerpted from BibleWorkbench, a weekly resource for engaging the biblical story in a new way published by the Educational Center in Charlotte, NC.  For details and subscription information, see  About BibleWorkbench.


Leave a Reply

