Between the Lines: Advent 2: December 4, 2011

Text: Mark 1:1-8

The beginning of the good news of Jesus Christ, the Son of God.

Early in my career as a news reporter, I gave up investigating reporting.  At the time I was a rookie on a large, metropolitan daily and I was being “groomed” to follow in the footsteps of two of the best investigative reporters in the state.  From the beginning of our relationship, my mentors served me well.  I was proud and pleased that with basic tutoring I was able to write several stories that “exposed” people and caused their downfalls.

One day, in the midst of a long and complicated investigation, I came to the conclusion that the judge I was investigating was “innocent.”  I remember going to my editor and giving him the news.  It was not “good.”  The story was going to go nowhere.  I had “failed” to do what investigative reporters who create sensational headlines and ongoing stories do.  There was not going to be any story and/or an opportunity to remove this seemingly corrupt person from his seat on the bench.  On that day and in that moment, I knew that if I was to be a good reporter, I would no longer be doing investigations and dig hard to provide “good” news that could destroy another person’s career and life.  Instead, I chose to write about the good things people on the cusp of being significant newsmakers were doing to help all of us lead better lives.

– Caren Goldman

Good News: WW2 poster

What makes something "good news"?

Leave a Reply

