Between the Lines: Pentecost 11: Proper 17- August 28, 2011

Text: Romans 12:9-21

Hate what is evil, hold fast to what is good…

I don’t suppose I want to argue Paul’s point here.  But in my old age I am not nearly so clear as I was when I was younger about what is “good” and what is “evil.”  Which makes it complicated to hold fast to one and hate the other.  Things are muckier for me these days.

So, let’s explore this.  Take a few moments and out of your own experience, think of a clear example of evil.  And again from your experience a clear example of good.  Reflect on the role of this evil in your life, and perhaps how hating what is evil has worked out for you.  What is the cost of seeing things this way?  What is the advantage of looking at it this way?

– Beth Harrison

 

Leave a Reply

