Between the Lines: Passion Sunday, April 17, 2011

Text: Matthew 27: 11-54

The Roman Catholic tradition of the Stations of the Cross is traced back to St. Francis of Assisi, and developed out of pilgrimages to Jerusalem. Over time, a traditional series of fourteen “stations” or particular events of Jesus’ trial, journey to Golgotha, crucifixion, and burial developed. Only eight of the traditional fourteen stations have roots in one of the Gospel accounts; the others come from popular devotion and imaginative expansion. A Scriptural Way of the Cross was introduced by Pope John Paul II in 1991.

Meditating on the Stations of the Cross involves not merely pondering the events and offering prayers, but actually moving physically from station to station. Examples of the Stations of the Cross can be found around the walls of most Catholic churches, and sometimes in gardens or other outdoor spaces. They can be elaborate artistic representations, or merely numbered spots.

If you can, find one or more places where you can walk the Stations of the Cross. Spend some time with each image and pay attention to what arises within you—what thoughts, feelings, memories lift up?

Alternately, make your own Stations of the Cross. Identify scenes in the Passion story that stand out for you. Use art materials at hand to express or evoke those scenes, and then set them around the room, or around the house, or around your yard. Then walk the “Way of the Cross,” visiting each scene in turn.

– Andy Kille

Search Google for “Stations of the Cross” and spend some time looking at the many ways Jesus’ journey has been imagined.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s